Uncategorized

Lost in Camberwell

The Camberwell Arts Festival is in full swing this week, as I discovered this morning. I stumbled upon this news in the pages of the local free newspaper Peckham Peculiar and although the event is more about artists than artisans (I’ll explain my personal definition at a later stage), of course I had to go.

I’d missed all the glory of the opening ceremony last Saturday, but still thought there would be enough action to inspire me and keep me entertained. So I got off the bus at Camberwell Green, expecting to see lots of in-your-face art vying for my attention. Instead I saw loads of ads, but where was the art.

Aha! Camberwell is taking the term “hidden talent” pretty seriously, right?

Wrong!

Tom Leighton L

If you look closer…., no, closer still….

Tom Leighton L closeup

See that yellow blob in the window? That’s just one piece of Tom Leighton’s photography project, the A-Z Sweetie Trail: twenty six letters, 26 photos of sweets,26 clues and 26 interesting points of Camberwell local culture.

All I had to do was open my eyes, follow the clues and get lost in the moment. What a wonderful way to get to know a new area.

Thank you, Tom!

Leave a comment